poppy appeal

2014 call for nominations -  how to get involved

The closing date is July 31 2014.

Nominations need to be supported by a citation and you can send that to us via email or post.

Unfortunately if you have previously received the medal you won't be eligible again.

The medal is awarded at our Annual Court in central London, this year on 15 October.


More information

Please send in your nomination along with citation to:crockson@ms-sc.org

Tel: 020 7654 7029 


Thomas Gray Medal nomination

Marine Society

202 Lambeth Road



Thomas Gray Memorial Trust

Established in 1925 the trust honours the memory of Thomas Gray, a senior surveyor for the Board of Trade, who wanted to improve the professionalism of seafarers in the latter half of the 19th century.

The medal recognises deeds of professional merit and was provided by the Royal Society of Arts until 1993 when the funds and management were transferred to the Marine Society. 

Anyone can apply as long as they meet the requirements. If you have any queries please get in touch with us.



Medal eligibility

The award is in recognition of exceptional deeds of merit at sea and includes services to seafarers in the broadest sense. These deeds can be related to any aspect of seafaring, including saving of lives, the well being of seafarers and any exceptional deeds related to the business of seafaring.

Previous winners:

2013 - Neil Atkinson in recognition of his very significant contribution, well beyond the call of duty, to the development and effective implementation of the Maritime Labour Convention 2006.

2012 - Nigel Rowe for services to sail training, in particular his success in securing opportunities for young people to go to sea, and for making a worthy contribution to helping bridge the gap between youth training and professional seafaring.

2011 -  Christopher Moss - for displaying the highest standard of maritime professionalism based on experience, knowledge and  exercise of sound judgement that secured the preservation of life aboard FV Athena in Falmouth Bay. 

2010 -  Richard Woodman ‘for a lifetime’s scholarship and contribution to the better public understanding of the role and importance of the Merchant Navy to the development of the UK and its maritime heritage’.

2009 -  The Reverend Canon Bill Christianson of the Mission to Seafarers in recognition of over 40 years service to seafarers - their welfare, spiritual and physical well-being.


Supporting seafarers is our strength

Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Contact
© MSSC, 202 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7JW
Patron: HM The Queen
A charity registered in England and Wales 313013 and in Scotland SC037808