Thomas Gray Medal

Each year we award the Thomas Gray medal to recognise deeds of professional merit in relation to any aspect of seafaring. 

The award has been recognising seafarers since 1925 and was created in honour of Thomas Gray, who dedicated his professional life to improving the professionalism of the maritime community through his role at the Board of Trade in the late 19th century.

Thomas Gray medal award


  • The award is in recognition of exceptional deeds of merit at sea, which includes services to seafarers in the broadest sense.
  • These deeds can be related to any aspect of seafaring, including saving lives, the well-being of seafarers and any exceptional accomplishments related to the business of seafaring.
  • You must have been a resident in the UK for at least three years.
  • If you have previously received the medal you won't be eligible again.


Please send your nomination, which must be supported by a citation, to us. You can send it via email or post.

  • Email: Carla Rockson on
  • Address: Thomas Gray Medal nomination, Marine Society, 202 Lambeth Road, London, SE1 7JW

The deadline date for 2020's nominations is 4 September 2020. For the 2020 award, we would be particularly interested in nominations for exceptional deeds related to the COVID-19 crisis.  

If you have any queries, please get in touch with us on: 020 7654 7029.

Previous years’ winners

2015 -  Dr John Timothy Carter. Dr Carter has devoted his career in medicine to occupational health in the UK offshore and Maritime Sectors. He has made a hugely significant contribution to seafarer medical issues and matters, both in the UK and internationally throughout his long career

2016 - Lt Cdr Christopher Trelawny, for his significant contribution to maritime security.

2017 – Not awarded

2018 – John Howard – for his significant contribution to safety of life at sea, through the development of a worldwide recognised qualification, career pathway and creation of the international Jack Up Barge Operators Association (IJUBOA)